A Swarm Of The Sun – The Rifts (2015)

A Swarm Of The Sun The Rifts 2015

A Swarm Of The Sun The Rifts 2015 This is the second installment from the Swedish duo A Swarm of the Sun and it will be released on January 30, 2015.
About many musical pieces I heard that people said it’s dark, but trust me, this is actually very dark, dense and depressive. It’s really overwhelming. You have to be in the right mood – state of the mind – to get through of it and enjoy it.
A Swarm of the Sun find their own path of music and their very own sound. It’s a massive wall of sound with subtle elements and a great balance of delicate emotions and pressuring density.
Erik Nilsson and Jakob Berglund – the core members of the band brought in drummer Karl Daniel Lidén to build up this sonic landscape based on smart layering and twisted melancholy. Heaviness and emotions are merged in this nine songs and the result it’s disturbing as an exorcism. In the official promo release they mention that “The Rifts reflects on various implications of a very specific, profound and personal struggle” – and it’s actually really came out of their music, literally you can feel some sort of deep sadness and shattering pain.
The music it’s expressive in a quit realistic way that it simply take you to some other place and bury you there in the end and it take effort to crawl back to the reality of your living-room.

There is redemption at the end of the journey?
Well, this is something that you will have to find out for yourself after you will buy the CD and take this ride till the very end of it.

A Swarm of the Sun is Erik Nilsson and Jakob Berglund. “The Rifts” is written and produced by the band, and recorded by Erik Nilsson at Garaget Studio and The Church of Brännkyrka. Drums are performed and recorded by Karl Daniel Lidén (Vaka, The Old Wind) at Studio Gröndahl. The album is mixed and mastered by the acclaimed Magnus Lindberg (Cult of Luna, Refused, Khoma, Pg.lost). All artwork, concepts and cover design, as well as a number of videos that enhance and complete the experience of the album, are directed and produced by Jakob. “The Rifts” is released through Erik’s own label Version Studio Records. It will be released as a luxury double-vinyl LP, an eight-panel thick cardboard stock digifile CD and through a number of digital platforms.
Contributing musicians are Anders Carlström (The Isolation Process) on bass, Karl Daniel Lidén on drums, Anna Carlsson on vocals, Minna Heimo on pipe organ and Robin Bergh (Aoria) on vibraphone.

A Swarm Of The Sun – Official Site
A Swarm Of The Sun – Bandcamp
Version Studio

A Swarm Of The Sun 2015

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *