Mustard Plug – Can’t Contain It (2014)

Mustard Plug – Can’t Contain It (2014)

Mustard Plug – Can’t Contain It (2014) Lighten up and have fun! – in few words this is the essence of what Mustard Plug delivers on their eighth studio album. In August 2013, Mustard Plug used KickStarter to fund the recording of their new album. “Can’t Contain” will be officially released by No Idea Records yesterday, January 14, 2014. We’ve got 14 high-energy, groovy ska-punk anthems. The album feature cover art by Jeff Rosenstock of Bomb the Music Industry, which, in my opinion, it’s pretty inexpressive, but fortunately, the music compensate. But honestly, in a CD shop lost between million of albums, I would definitively skip this one.
The album starts like a party and it’s a party throughout! “We Came To Party” will be definitively a party anthem with its “hey ho” chorus. It have a more edgy punk vibe then the rest of the tracks, felt a tie back to Dead Kennedys, but with a ska outfit and flavor. Cool.

I was especially impressed by Nate Cohn performance, very tight, subtle and groovy drums throughout, it’s definitively the pumping heart of the band!
My favorites are: “We Came To Party”; “Aye Aye Aye” (with a pretty cool, jazzy trumpet solo); “Burn It Down” because it’s intensity; “Blame Yourself” because mostly there is no one else to blame; “Gone And Faded” because the bass riff; “What Does She Know” because its ring in your ears and can’t get rid of it from its very first second; and generally, the whole album it’s groovy and sticky, nothing to skip or things I would left off. Once your up and running on this roller-coaster, you can’t get off!

Buy it or steal it!!


01 – We Came To Party
02 – The All-Nighter
03 – Aye Aye Aye
04 – White Noise
05 – Bang!
06 – Burn It Down
07 – Shakin’ It Up
08 – Blame Yourself
09 – Gone And Faded
10 – What Does She Know
11 – Twist The Knife
12 – It’s You
13 – Perfect Plan
14 – Running Out Of Time

Dave Kirchgessner – vocals
Colin Clive – guitar/vocals
Rick Johnson – bass
Nate Cohn – drums
Jim Hofer – trombone
Brandon Jenison – trumpet

Official Bio:

Mustard Plug started out in the punk clubs, basements and dive bars of the Midwest, playing punk-influenced ska music before most people in the U.S. had ever heard of ska. They clung to a DIY work ethic that had been ingrained in them growing up in the 1980′s hardcore punk scene and applied it to everything they would ever do together as a band. Mustard Plug released their first cassette tape themselves (1992′s Skapocalypse Now!), and played constantly to earn enough money to record their first album – 1994′s Big Daddy Mulititude. Their debut full length was released on legendary NYC label Moon Records (home of Toasters, Hepcat, Dance Hall Crashers, and pretty much every other 90′s ska band of note). With their new found national distribution and exposure, the band climbed into their van and performed their music to new fans across North America. Twenty-one years, 1500 shows and 200,000 album sales later, it cannot be denied that the band has surpassed all expectations and permanently staked their claim in contemporary music.
For their new album, “Can’t Contain It”, Mustard Plug have returned to the DIY blueprint that the band was built upon, while at the same time embracing all the school of hard knocks craftsmanship and wisdom that the band has earned along the way. The band spent the last several years writing new material that was informed by 22 years of songwriting experience while retaining the youthful energy that has endeared them to their fans. They tracked the record at bassist Rick Johnson’s Cold War Studios, giving them the flexibility to experiment and add new layers and dimensions that were not possible given the time constraints on their previous recordings. Many of their musician friends(Dan Potthast, Sean Bonnett, Mark Petz, Corey Ruffin) were tapped to contribute, creating a denser, more intricate sound.
Once the recording process for Can’t Contain It was complete, the band turned to their fans to help finance the mixing and production of their record. Their Kickstarter campaign surpassed all their expectations, doubling their initial goal and re-confirming the support and love of their audience. The tracks were then sent to be mixed at Bill Stevenson’s Blasting Room Studios where Mustard Plug had recorded 3 of their previous albums (including 1997’s breakthrough “Evildoers Beware” and 2007’s “In Black and White”). The result is possibly their most diverse and best record to date.
After tapping their friends and fans to help out with the recording, the band turned to more of their posse to collaborate on the artwork. Underground icon Jeff Rosenstock designed the album packaging, while noted artists Craig Horkey and Larry Kole created alternative limited edition album covers and posters. The final piece came together when at the last minute, No Idea record founder, Var Thelin heard the record and offered to partner with the band on its release. Mustard Plug is excited to be given the opportunity to collaborate with a label known for its’ strong punk rock ethics and underground credibility.
Ultimately, this release is about the community Mustard Plug has built during its’ 22 year existence. Coming full circle back to the DIY scene and the community that the were born out of has helped them to put out their best record to date.

Mustard Plug – Official Site
Mustard Plug @ Facebook


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *