Testament – The Dark Roots of Earth (2012)

Testament was formed in 1983, in Berkeley, California and they are often credited as one of the most popular bands of the 1980s Thrash Metal scene. Singer Chuck Billy replaced former singer Steve Souza – also of another Thrash legend, Exodus – in 1986, prior to the recording of their first studio album, “The Legacy”, and while guitarist Eric Peterson has been credited as the only constant member since foundation and the band had numerous lineup changes, the current line-up includes two other original members, guitarist Alex Skolnick and bassist Greg Christian, while behind the drums we’ve got Gene Hoglan (associated with artists such as Devin Townsend, Dark Angel, Death, Dethklok, Strapping Young Lad, Pitch Black Forecast, and most recently Fear Factory) who initially joined the band back in ’96 and replaced Paul Bostaph during the recording session.
To date, Testament has released nine studio albums, four live albums, six compilation albums, and six singles, and they were one of the first Thrash Metal bands to sign to a major label, to Atlantic Records, in 1986. They achieved their biggest success with their 1992 released, fifth album, “The Ritual”, which debuted at #55 on the Billboard 200 charts, the band’s highest ever chart position in the United States. The band also has two Top 40 albums and one Top 50 album to its credit in the UK. Their previous, ninth studio album, “The Formation of Damnation” (2008) entered the Top 20 in Germany at #15.
Released on July 27, 2012 in Europe, the 50 minutes of their tenth studio album, “The Dark Roots of Earth” it’s the perfect refreshment for all the true metallers and headbangers fueled by the nostalgia of the 80’s raw Thrash slaughters.

And this is so classic, so stainless, precious steel as you can ever get and Testament seems to be in its top form, while they have the same fury and still raging ‘nd thrashing as back in the 80’s. Mandatory for their fans, mandatory for all the headbangers, this is true (Thrash) Metal, certificated steel!


01. Rise Up (4:18)
02. Native Blood (5:21)
03. Dark Roots Of Earth (5:45)
04. True American Hate (5:27)
05. A Day In The Death (5:38)
06. Cold Embrace (7:46)
07. Man Kills Mankind (5:06)
08. Throne Of Thorns (7:05)
09. Last Stand For Independence (4:43)

10. Dragon Attack (Queen cover) (4:44)
11. Animal Magnetism (Scorpions cover) (5:56)
12. Powerslave (Iron Maiden cover) (6:51)
13. Throne Of Thorns (Extended version) (7:41)

Testament – Official Site
Testament @ YouTube
Testament @ Facebook
Testament @ Twitter

One comment on “Testament – The Dark Roots of Earth (2012)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *