ReinXeed – Swedish Hitz Goes Metal (2011)

This is fun. And eventually an excellent way to market the band and a product. ReinXeed a Symphonic/Power Metal band from Boden, Sweden, formed in 2004 by vocalist Tommy Johansson. They released four albums, I admit, never listen or heard about them before. Johansson take inspiration from different movie soundtracks – such as Lord of the Rings -, cartoons and bands like Helloween with Michael Kiske, and Rhapsody of Fire. On their official YouTube Channel you will find lot of covers from cartoon tunes to Tina Turner, Helloween or Celin Dion. “Swedish Hitz Goes Metal” is a collection of covers from three classic, exclusively Swedish bands: Abba, Roxette and Ace Of Base.
Singing mainly high, Tommy Johansson have an extremely powerful voice. Classic Heavy Metal fans – Helloween, Judas Priest – will be delighted.

Nuclear Blast released back in 2001 a tribute album of ABBA songs played by bands such as Therion, Metalium, Sinergy, At Vance, Morgana Lefay, Paradox, etc, and I really loved that record, so I was curious about this one as well. Johansson and his band mates did a great job on songs as Mamma Mia, Lay All Your Love On Me, Summer Night, Super Trouper, Money Money Money – by Abba, The Look, Joyride, etc – by Roxette and The Sign, All That She Wants. etc by Ace Of Base. 14 tracks, 14 classic re-arranged in dynamic, groovy, classic Heavy Metal style.
I will dig for their latest release: “1912”, they made me curious. The kids had fun and I had too!

“Swedish Hitz Goes Metal” track list:

01. Mamma Mia (Abba Cover)
02. The Look (Roxette Cover)
03. Lay All Your Love On Me (Abba Cover)
04. The Sign (Ace Of Base Cover)
05. Summer Night (Abba Cover)
06. Sleeping In My Car (Roxette Cover)
07. Super Trouper (Abba Cover)
08. Money Money Money (Abba Cover)
09. Beautiful Life (Ace Of Base Cover)
10. Intermezzo no1 (Abba Cover)
11. The winner Takes It All (Abba Cover)
12. All That She Wants (Ace Of Base Cover)
13. Joyride (Roxette Cover)
14. Listen To Your Heart (Roxette Cover)

ReinXSeed discography:

2008 – The Light
2009 – Higher
2010 – Majestic
2011 – 1912

ReinXeed @ MySpace
ReinXeed @ YouTube
ReinXeed @ Facebook
Swedish Hitz Goes Metal @ Facebook

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *