Morbid Angel – Illud Divinum Insanus (2011)

This might be one of the best metal albums of the year. Extremely brutal, filled up with cutting edge riffs, crushing noises and killer tempos, technical death metal constructions and some demonic industrial like noises, this is a very complex and breathing metal product up to date and beneath the explosive sound, Morbid Angel write and recorded absolutely killer songs incorporated modern taste to their classic death approach. Absolutely brilliant.
Eight years since their last studio album – “Heretic” (2003) – and sixteen since their last with David Vincent – “Domination” (1995). And some may agree – or not – but Morbid Angel was always identified by the eccentric David Vincent. He left Morbid Angel to join his wife’s industrial metal band, Genitorturers in 1995 and rejoined Morbid Angel in 2004 and it seems he bring with him some of the industrialized experiences gained along Genitorturers, but no metal fan should worry, Morbid Angel remains the same uncompromising metal act. This is maybe not a conservative death metal album, still it’s extremely heavy and crushing.
“Illud Divinum Insanus” is the band’s first album featuring second guitarist Destructhor and bassist/vocalist David Vincent since 1995, as well as their first not recorded with longtime drummer Pete Sandoval, who had undergone back surgery when recording began and former Hate Eternal drummer Tim Yeung recorded the drum tracks for this album. Guitarist Trey Azagthoth – rated as number one “death metal guitarist ever” – keep constantly the flag of Morbid Angel high since formation back in 1983.

Track listing:

01. “Omni Potens” – 2:28
02. “Too Extreme!” – 6:13
03. “Existo Vulgoré” – 3:59
04. “Blades for Baal” – 4:52
05. “I Am Morbid” – 5:16
06. “10 More Dead” – 4:51
07. “Destructos Vs. the Earth / Attack” – 7:15
08. “Nevermore” – 5:07
09. “Beauty Meets Beast” – 4:56
10. “Radikult” – 7:37
11. “Profundis – Mea Culpa” – 4:05

While their much acclaimed 1989 debut “Altars of Madness” appearing at number 1 in Decibel Magazine and Terrorizer magazine ranked in its “Top 40 greatest death metal albums”, and with their third album “Covenant” (1993) being the best-selling death metal album of all time with over 127,000 units sold, “Illud Divinum Insanus” might become a new corner stone of the genre. “Destructos Vs. the Earth / Attack” it’s instantly a killer anthem and the whole album it’s filled with catchy and crushing themes. “Radikult” is another modern and killer metal anthem. Brilliant. It sounds like Marilyn Manson teamed up with Slayer. And song by song, riff by riff, Morbid Angel will conquer and enslave you.
Brutality and harmonies, melodies, technicality and expressiveness are perfectly balanced and merged into one compact and weighty metal where classic values and modern sounds and approaches collide and melt into brutal and groovy metal.
Out June 7th, this will blow your speakers for the rest of the year!

Morbid Angel – Official Site
Morbid Angel @ MySpace

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *