Anti-Flag – A Document of Dissent (2014)

Anti-Flag – A Document of Dissent (2014)

Anti-Flag – A Document of Dissent (2014) “A Document Of Dissent” it’s a collection of 26 tracks spanning the best of the last 20 years (1993-2013), of the band who have partnered up once again with the FAT Wreck Chords for this release. So, if for some weird reason you missed any of the Anti-Flag’s eight studio albums, this is quiet a decent way to right that mistake. I have fall in love with Anti-Flag with their fabulous 2009’s album “The People or the Gun” and since then they are my reference point for still alive and kicking punk-rock, keeping the spirit of The Clash fresh and alive.
Forget about Green Day, this is the real thing!! And…. “you’ll gonna die for your government, die for your country…. that’s s*it!!”
While this seems to be a limited edition, it’s a good idea to pre-order it now.
Anti-Flag was formed in 1988 by singer/guitarist Justin Sane and drummer Pat Thetic in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. The band is famous for political activism mainly focusing on anti-war activism, anti-imperialism, class struggle, human rights, and various sociopolitical sentiments. Although I’m not a fan of the left-wing ideologies, Anti-Flag managed to get me. Ant that’s because their irresistible songs and simple, straight, honest messages. We have some things in common I guess. I’m still angry, old and poor. 😆 I’m only “guilty” for being born on the left (wrong?) side of the world…
They also known for their advocacy of progressive political action groups such as Greenpeace and Amnesty International and most recently, the band has declared solidarity with the global Occupy Together movement.

In 1996, the band released their first album, Die For the Government, on New Red Archives followed in 1998 by “Their System Doesn’t Work For You” – released independently.
In 1999, Anti-Flag released their third album, “A New Kind of Army” on Go-Kart Records/A-F Records. The cover art page unfolded into a poster featuring the phrase “Too smart to fight. Too smart to kill. Join now. A new kind of army.” In addition to this, the band had a disclaimer at the bottom of its album cover saying,”Anti-Flag does not mean Anti-American. Anti-Flag means anti-war. Anti-Flag means unity.”
In 2000, Anti-Flag was invited to participate in Vans Warped Tour. During this time, the members of Anti-Flag met NOFX’s Fat Mike, owner of the Fat Wreck Chords record label. This meeting spawned a friendship that would lead to Anti-Flag’s release of two albums on the label.
In 2001, Anti-Flag teamed with punk music producer Mass Giorgini to record the album Underground Network, released on Fat Wreck Chords. The release of the album is arguably the band’s breakout from the hardcore underground to a more mainstream spotlight.
In February 2002, Anti-Flag released the album Mobilize on A-F Records. In the wake of the September 11th terrorist attacks on the United States, Anti-Flag spoke out against the push for war with the album’s title track “911 for peace”. During this time, many music stores pulled Anti-Flag’s records from shelves, as their music was labelled as “anti-American.
In 2003, Anti-Flag released the album The Terror State on Fat Wreck Chords. The album primarily focused on criticizing the Bush Administration’s handling of the War on Terrorism.
In 2005, Anti-Flag signed a two-album record contract with major label RCA. The first of these two albums, “For Blood and Empire”, was released on March 21, 2006. The album’s main focus is the band’s criticism of the mishandling of the War on Terrorism by the United States Government. The second, titled “The Bright Lights of America”. Produced by Tony Visconti (David Bowie, T. Rex and Morrissey), was released on April 1, 2008.
Their next CD, “The People or the Gun” was released on SideOneDummy on June 9, 2009.
The band released their latest album, “The General Strike” on March 20, 2012 and it was recorded and produced by Anti-Flag at their home studio.


01 – Die for the Government
02 – Fuck Police Brutality
03 – Tearing Everyone Down
04 – A New Kind of Army
05 – That’s Youth
06 – Angry, Young and Poor
07 – This Machine Kills Fascists
08 – Underground Network
09 – Spaz’s House Destruction Party
10 – 911 for Peace
11 – Turncoat
12 – Rank N File
13 – Power to the Peaceful
14 – Death of a Nation
15 – You Can Kill the Protester, but You Can’t Kill the Protest
16 – The Press Corpse
17 – Hymn for the Dead
18 – 1 Trillion Dollar$
19 – This Is the End
20 – Cities Burn
21 – Good and Ready
22 – The Bright Lights of America
23 – Sodom, Gomorrah, Washington D.C. (Sheep in Shepherd’s Clothing)
24 – The Economy Is Suffering…Let It Die
25 – This Is the New Sound
26 – Broken Bones

FAT Wreck


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *