Celldweller – Blackstar Act Two, Awakening (Original Score) 2014

Celldweller - Blackstar Act Two, Awakening (Original Score) 2014

Celldweller - Blackstar Act Two, Awakening (Original Score) 2014 The story continue! I had bring to your attention last year the joint adventure of Celldweller and the award-winning science fiction/fantasy author Joshua Viola in their fantasy multidimensional, musical, literal and visual project entitled “Black Star”.
The story short:
In a world blasted and barren, the last bastion of civilization is the fortress-city of Central. The people within its walls gladly accept the dominion of Kaine, the city’s benevolent arbiter, in return for his gift to them – Re:memory. This public archive contains humanity’s memories of the world before it was destroyed, allowing them to relive the lost glories of the past.
Rezin doesn’t know who he is or how he came to be in Central, but he does know this: he is a Reaper. His combination of gifts and abilities allow him to decrypt any system and steal information to sell to the highest bidder. His talents afford him a life of luxury until the day he plugs into Re:memory and reaps something he wasn’t looking for, something he doesn’t understand – and something that Kaine will do anything to retrieve.
Forced to flee into the dangerous Outlands, Rezin must dodge Kaine’s pursuing forces even as he finds that the secret he took from Re:memory is transforming him, awakening within him powers he can’t control. When he encounters mysterious twins with powers of their own, Rezin begins a journey beyond the confines of the world he knew, a journey that will lead him across space and time, a journey that will bring him face to face with the nature of the universe – and of himself.

Now the music.
“Patched In” it’s a mystery fueled trip with some pretty cool retro flavored sounds and clever grooves. It’s a cool mixture of “old” and modern sounds with roots back to the 80’s new wave movement, with some left field resonances and sneaking smoothly into the future. As Celldweller always did.
“The Undercity” take off in more darker tones and the groove gets pretty intense with glitches and industrial flavors. Still, it’s a quite cinematic trip with addictive/obsessive bass lines. Love it!
“The Vaults of Re_Memory” introduce some orchestral/symphonic overtones almost in the manner of Hans Zimmer and everything’s got a very dramatic turn.
“Venus Rising” bring back the pounding electronica and the classic EDM beats, old fashioned arpeggios and synth lines are merged with the fat and powerful modern sound.
“Identities” it’s another more meditative/clear-obscure journey while “6_17” it’s a nice, but pretty dark outro which let the things floating in expectation of the things yet to come. Nice. And epic!

Visit http://blackstarnovel.com for more information.

Blackstar Act TWO Book Cover

Celldweller – Official Site
Celldweller – Facebook
Celldweller – Twitter
Celldweller – SoundCloud


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *