Mehliana (Mark Guiliana and Brad Mehldau) – Taming the Dragon (2014)

Mark Guiliana & Brad Mehldau – Mehliana – Taming the Dragon (2014)

Mark Guiliana & Brad Mehldau – Mehliana – Taming the Dragon (2014) “Taming the Dragon” it’s the debut album from the electric duo Mehliana made of Brad Mehldau (synthesizers, Fender Rhodes and piano) and Mark Guiliana (drums and electronics). Because the dense electronics this have a powerful jazz-rock sound, but it’s a vividly groovy, experimental and breath taking experience throughout with space-rock inspired soundscapes and exciting jazz improvisations. There is an extremely refreshing balance between all the flavors, sounds, elements and moods of the album. Mark Guiliana delivered some extremely tasty drums while Brad Mehldau added dimensions and colors. A perfect mixture of passion, energy and experimentation with tasty melodies, meditative searching and emotions.
Mark Guiliana (born 1980, Florham Park, New Jersey, United States) is an American drummer, composer, and leader of the band Beat Music. He is known for his playing with Brad Mehldau, Meshell Ndegeocello, Gretchen Parlato, Jason Lindner, Lionel Loueke, Avishai Cohen (bassist), Avishai Cohen (trumpeter), Dhafer Youssef, Tigran Hamasyan, Matisyahu, European piano trio Phronesis (band) and his old band Heernt. But percussionist Mark Guiliana also have taste for other genres such as hip-hop and drum’n’bass.
Bradford Alexander “Brad” Mehldau (born August 23, 1970) is an American jazz pianist and composer. Mehldau has led the Brad Mehldau Trio since the mid-1990s. The group features bassist Larry Grenadier and drummer Jeff Ballard. Mehldau has also performed with many renowned artists, including Joshua Redman, Charles Lloyd, Kurt Rosenwinkel, Pat Metheny, Wayne Shorter, Peter Bernstein, Christian McBride, Michael Brecker, Chris Potter, Brian Blade, Jimmy Cobb, classical vocalists Renée Fleming and Anne Sofie von Otter, and singer-songwriters Chris Thile, John Mayer and Elliott Smith.

Nonesuch Records releases the debut album from the electric duo of Brad Mehldau and Mark Guiliana, Mehliana: Taming the Dragon, on January 21, February 25, 2014. The two have been performing for several years, including a brief US tour this fall and an ongoing European tour, with Mehldau playing Fender Rhodes and synthesizers and Guiliana on drums and effects, as they are on the record. Mehliana comprises 12 original tunes—six written by the duo and six written by Mehldau—and was engineered and mixed by Greg Koller (Jon Brion, Kanye West). The vinyl edition of the album, due February March 18, includes two 140-gram LPs pressed at Pallas MFG in Diepholz, Germany, and a CD of the album. Mehliana is now available to pre-order in the Nonesuch Store with an instant download of the album track “Hungry Ghost.”
According to Modern Drummer, Mark Guiliana is “at the forefront of an exciting new style of drumming.” The New Jersey native’s unique and un-compromised approach to playing the drums has earned him international acclaim as both a leader and a sideman. In 2004, Guiliana created HEERNT, an “experimental-garage-jazz” trio based in New York. The band’s debut record, Locked in a Basement, was called the record “the most exuberant, dramatic, beautiful, sassy, genre-busting little outing that I’ve heard since I don’t know when” by legendary drummer Bill Bruford (Yes, King Crimson). As a sideman, Guiliana’s longest partnership has been with world-renowned jazz bassist Avishai Cohen. He toured all over the world with Cohen from 2003 until 2008, performing on six studio records and a live DVD recorded at the Blue Note in Manhattan. Guiliana has also recorded and/or performed with Meshell Ndegeocello, Dhafer Youssef, Wayne Krantz, Matisyahu, Jazz Mandolin Project, Jason Lindner, Brad Shepik, Bobby McFerrin, Tigran Hamasyan, and many more. His debut solo record, Beat Music, which was co-produced by Ndegeocello, was released in the spring of 2013. Guiliana plays Gretsch drums, Sabian cymbals, Vic Firth sticks, and Evans drumheads.


01 – Taming the Dragon
02 – Luxe
03 – You Can’t Go Back Now
04 – The Dreamer
05 – Elegy for Amelia E.
06 – Sleeping Giant
07 – Hungry Ghost
08 – Gainsbourg
09 – Just Call Me Nige
10 – Sassyassed Sassafrass
11 – Swimming
12 – London Gloaming

Buy it or steal it, mandatory!!!

Nonesuch Records

Brad Mehldau

Mehliana 2014


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *