Rescue Rangers – Manitoba (2012)

Chip ‘n Dale anybody? 😆 No, seriously, this is heavy, heavy Rock, Rescue Rangers reminds me of Kyuss/Queens of the Stone Age, Helmet, Clutch, Black Label Society, and some Grunge and Post-Grunge outfits as Stone Temple Pilots, modern Rock – and Post-Rock – bands such as Tool. Although, “Why So Serious” definitively reminds me of Alice In Chains, and their glowing shadow is pulsing discretely throughout in their music.
“Manitoba” it’s a dark, intense, perfectly build-up and biting Rock album, and almost surprisingly, although they are from Marseille, France, it’s sound very American. Pascal Mascheroni – Vocals & Guitars, Christophe Fresard – Bass, and Pierre Roulois – Drums, find that killer fat sound and write the most addictive riffs and grooves which make that kind of Rock kicking.

The band was formed in 2005 and it was also marked by the release of a first EP. “Guitars And Dust Dancing”, the band’s first album, was mastered by Alan Douches and released in 2008. The album gets national distribution through TRENDKILL Recordings in 2010 and the band toured with MONDO GENERATOR. More then two years work was invested in “Manitoba”, but the results are obvious.
It features guest appearances by friends – and long time rock heroes – Dave Angstrom (Hermano, Asylum on the hill, Supafuzz) and Nick Oliveri (QOTSA, Kyuss, Mondo Generator). Jason Groves (Asylum on the hill, Supafuzz) took on the mixing duties in Kentucky, and it was mastered by Nick Zampiello and Rob Gonela in Massachussetts.


01 – In Tim, Pal
02 – The Blank
03 – Ape Shall Not Kill Ape
04 – New Astronomy
05 – Why So Serious
06 – Done. Gone
07 – Manitoba
08 – Creeper, The One Who Creeps
09 – Done. Gone
10 – New Astronomy (Reprise)
11 – You Are Here

Rescue Rangers – Official Site
Rescue Rangers @ Badcamp
Rescue Rangers @ MySpace
Rescue Rangers @ Facebook
Rescue Rangers @ Twitter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *