The Offspring – Days Go By (2012)

Years go by… Actually four years since the release of “Rise and Fall, Rage and Grace” in 2008 and Dexter Holland and his band mates are back now with their ninth studio album due for release on June 26, 2012. 12 tracks, Punk Rock throughout, just like “Smash”, 1994 and selling 12 million copies worldwide was yesterday. But this is not “Americana”, “Days Go By” have a much darker vibe and approach, sounds more like “Ignition” (eventually “Conspiracy of One”), this is pretty heavy in a very rocking (Metal) sense.
Still, we’ve got lighter, funnier – sarcastic? – moments like “OC Guns” or the summer taste-like, possible hit single, teenage anthem “Cruising California (Bumpin’ In My Trunk)” which might be the favorite tracks for those who are looking exclusively for the follow up of “Pretty Fly (for a White Guy)” and “Why Don’t You Get a Job”. Life is easy! 😆

And this “life is easy” was always the best thing about The Offspring – they knew how to make fun of not so funny things, how to get over becoming “rock stars” overnight and how to get back into the bus and touring themselves to death like nothing happened. They can play a heavy riffing, dark song and a summer hit side by side like no one other. Or an almost ballad like “All I Have Left Is You” beside a raging track like “Hurting As One”. Dirty Magic? Probably….. 😆


01. The Future Is Now
02. Secrets From The Underground
03. Days Go By
04. Turning Into You
05. Hurting As One
06. Cruising California (Bumpin’ In My Trunk)
07. All I Have Left Is You
08. OC Guns
09. Dirty Magic
10. I Wanna Secret Family (With You)
11. Dividing By Zero
12. Slim Pickens Does The Right Thing And Rides The Bomb To Hell

Don’t have to be a genuine Punk Rocker to love this. The Offspring stays the same band you can always count on while Bob Rock produced another excellent sounding album.

The Offspring – Official Site
The Offspring @ Facebook
The Offspring @ Twitter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *