Joe Satriani – Unstoppable Momentum (2013)

Joe Satriani Unstoppable Momentum (2013) I’m not one of the unconditional fans of the modern guitar virtuosos. My guitar heroes were (and still are) Hendrix, Zappa, Page, Iommi, etc. More recently Buckethead and several more jazz oriented guitar players as Aram Bajakian or Marc Ribot. But I admit, I was quite into “Flying in a Blue Dream”, it was an album I loved and I still do. Although I had listen almost each and every album he played on, including the G3 project and the hard rocking Chickenfoot, I always find at least a couple of great songs, nice passages, interesting parts on his works.
Satriani came into focus when one of his first students, Steve Vai started mentioning his name quite often. His students included Kirk Hammett of Metallica, David Bryson of Counting Crows, Kevin Cadogan from Third Eye Blind, Larry LaLonde of Primus and Possessed, Alex Skolnick of Testament, Rick Hunolt (ex-Exodus), Phil Kettner of Lääz Rockit, Geoff Tyson of T-Ride, Charlie Hunter and David Turin. During the G3 tours, which he founded in 1996, he invited and collaborated with several famous guitarists such as Vai, LaLonde, Timmons, Steve Lukather, John Petrucci, Eric Johnson, Yngwie Malmsteen, Brian May, Patrick Rondat, Paul Gilbert, Adrian Legg, Steve Morse and Robert Fripp.
“Unstoppable Momentum” is the fourteenth studio solo album by Satriani and it’s scheduled to be released on May 7. He will tour the album with Marco Minnemann on drums and Bryan Beller on bass. The album was recorded by Joe Satriani – guitar, production, Mike Keneally – keyboard, Vinnie Colaiuta – drums, Chris Chaney – bass and engineered and co-produced by Mike Fraser.

Once again I have several favorite tracks, “Can’t Go Back”, “Three Sheets to the Wind”, “Three Sheets to the Wind”, “Jumpin’ Out”
What I actually always loved about Satriani it’s his incredible sense of sticky melodies, his powerful harmonics and he’s excellently build-up riffs. Rarely lead guitarist have a good sense for genuine riffs. Satriani build upon solid, tasty riffs, smart and integrated melodies, sometimes almost sing-a-long type of riffs and themes makes his music unique and unforgettable.
I’m glad that beside Chickenfoot he still have time and creativity for his solo works. Those are quite different things, but Satriani manage to handle them both with style and dedication.

01. Unstoppable Momentum
02. Can’t Go Back
03. Lies and Truths
04. Three Sheets to the Wind
05. I’ll Put a Stone on Your Cairn
06. ‘A Door into Summer’
07. Shine On American Dream
08. Jumpin’ In
09. Jumpin’ Out
10. The Weight of the World
11. A Celebration

Joe Satriani – official Site
Joe Satriani @ Facebook

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *