Neneh Cherry and The Thing – The Cherry Thing (2012)

Neneh Cherry and The Thing – The Cherry Thing (2012) Do you remember “7 Seconds”? It was a hit single back in 1996 and received a Grammy nomination, won the Best Song title at the MTV Europe Music Awards. The album was entitled “Man”, “7 Seconds” featuring Youssou N’Dour, the track “Woman” is Neneh Cherry take on James Brown’s 1966 track “It’s a Man’s Man’s Man’s World”, “Trouble Man” a cover of a Marvin Gaye track, while another track, “Together Now”, featured Tricky.
In 2006, Cherry announced the formation of a new band, cirKus, releasing two albums “Laylow” in 2006, respectively “Medicine” in 2009.
Mats Gustafsson (saxophones), Ingebrigt Håker Flaten (double bass), and Paal Nilssen-Love (drums), knowned as The Thing, are one of the most incisive experimental/free Jazz bands of the contemporary Jazz scene.
This four artist together delivering the eight tracks of “The Cherry Thing”. Album will be released in June 2012.

And when two rebellious, non-conformist artist such as Neneh Cherry and The Thing collide, the result is obviously dangerous as well. Recorded over just four days in a west London studio, “The Cherry Thing” is extremely breathing and alive, kicking like a mule and is both wild and reckless as anything delivered by The Thing members, and musical, sweet, but biting as the things Neneh Cherry did since she debuted with the punk acts The Cherries, The Slits and Rip Rig + Panic.
Is said that The Thing named themselves after a song from one of their idols who just happens to be Neneh’s stepfather, the jazz great Don Cherry. After seeing The Thing perform live, Cherry decided she’d like to lend her talents to the band, and from the results of The Cherry Thing, a collection of mainly cover versions.
We’ve got songs as “The Heart” which was written by Don Cherry, Neneh Cherry’s stepfather, Martina Topley Bird’s “Too Tough To Die”, MF Doom’s “Accordian”, and Suicide’s “Dream Baby Dream” and the murderous version of Stooges’s “Dirt”.


01 – Cashback
02 – Dream Baby Dream
03 – Too Tough to Die
04 – Sudden Moment
05 – Accordion
06 – Golden Heart
07 – Dirt
08 – What Reason Could I Give

On Jun 30, 2012, at the Ljubljana Jazzfestival, in Ljubljana, Slovenia, they gonna perform together live on stage for the first time!

Neneh Cherry – Official Site
The Thing – Official Site

0 comments on “Neneh Cherry and The Thing – The Cherry Thing (2012)

1 Pings/Trackbacks for "Neneh Cherry and The Thing – The Cherry Thing (2012)"

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *