Faster Pussycat – Wake Me When It’s Over (1989)

This isn’t definitively their dirtiest album, actually after their sleazy debut album, on this the boys from Los Angeles turned to more bluesy sounds kind of leaving behind their glam and hair metal roots, but still, this is 60 minutes of quality and dirty rock and roll as only at the end of the 80s were possible. “Bathroom Wall” back then was one of my favorite songs, kind of Sex Pistols/New York Dolls meet Steppenwolf (“Born to be Wild”).
“House of Pain” is a bluesy song, off the band’s original punk rock/glam outfit and style. The guys still rocks on with “Where There’s a Whip, There’s a Way”, “Slip of the Tongue”, “Ain’t No Way Around It”, etc, while songs as “Cryin’ Shame” combined hair metal and blues rock tastefully. One of my favorites from this album is the bluesy, cabaret taste like “Arizona Indian Doll”.
“House of Pain” reached #28 in the Billboard Hot 100 and the video, which was directed by future film director Michael Bay, was in rotation on MTV. The album itself peaked at #48 in the Billboard 200.

Faster Pussycat was formed in Hollywood by Taime Downe during the Glam metal boom of the 1980s, and the name of the band is derived from the Russ Meyer film “Faster, Pussycat! Kill! Kill!”. After several more member changes, the band settle down to their most known line-up, consisting of Taime Downe (vocals), Greg Steele (guitar), Brent Muscat (guitar), Eric Stacy (bass) and Mark Michals (drums).
The band released their debut album Faster Pussycat in 1987. The band managed to build a cult following and put out several promotional videos from the first album for songs such as “Cathouse”, “Bathroom Wall” and “Don’t Change That Song”. In November of 1987 the band appeared on the cover of Screamer Magazine’s debut issue. In the United States the band toured with Alice Cooper, David Lee Roth, and Motörhead in support of the album.
Two years later, Faster Pussycat would record their most successful album “Wake Me When It’s Over”. The album received gold status, its sales being largely boosted by the hit single, “House of Pain”.

Track list:

01. “Where There’s a Whip, There’s a Way” (Taime Downe, Brent Muscat, Greg Steele) 6:44
02. “Little Dove” (Downe, Muscat) 5:05
03. “Poison Ivy” (Downe, Eric Stacey) 4:24
04. “House of Pain” (Downe, Steele) 5:47
05. “Gonna Walk” (Downe, Muscat, Steele) 4:24
06. “Pulling Weeds” (Downe, Muscat) 4:35
07. “Slip of the Tongue” (Downe) 4:32
08. “Cryin’ Shame” (Downe, Steele) 4:51
09. “Tattoo” (Downe, Muscat, Steele) 4:56
10. “Ain’t No Way Around It” (Downe, Muscat, Steele) 4:31
11. “Arizona Indian Doll” (Downe, Steele) 4:40
12. “Please Dear” (Downe, Muscat) 6:25

Music videos were also produced for “House of Pain” and “Poison Ivy”. While the band were touring for the album in 1990, drummer Mark Michals was arrested in Omaha, Nebraska for trying to mail heroin to his hotel room and was subsequently kicked out of the band. Frankie Banali of Quiet Riot filled in as drummer for the remainder of the tour, then Brett Bradshaw became Faster Pussycat’s new long-term drummer. Tours with KISS and Mötley Crüe followed.

Faster Pussycat – Official Site
Faster Pussycat @ MySpace
Full Effect Records

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *