Red Hot Chili Peppers – I’m With You (2011)

I’m wondering for how many more albums they have contract with the Warner Bros. because I actually see no other reason to deliver new materials. RHCP kind of pissing on their own grave and the only evolution from their previous album is that “I’m With You” fortunately is considerably shorter, instead two discs we’ve got only one. “Stadium Arcadium” was a chaotic/eclectic, extremely scattered release, variety actually meaning only fluctuate quality songs. Well, critics praised as the best RHCP album and it sold over 7 million copies, so, probably something it’s wrong with me and not with the Uplift Mofo Party guys.
Kiedis said the recording almost was called “Dr. Johnny Skinz’s Disproportionately Rambunctious Polar Express Machine-Head,” based on a drug experience and the cover image by the controversial British artist, Damien Hirst is already considered by many as a repulsive one. Well, I’m sick – and once again – I find the cover might be the only interesting thing about the new RHCP.

My worst expectations while I was listening “The Adventures of Rain Dance Maggie” are confirmed.
14 tracks and nothing quite new flows out of the speakers. Well, at age of 50 I really won’t expect something revolutionary from these guys, but giving second thoughts, I knew some quite creative guys even older than Flea and Kiedis – no offense! Around track 8 – “Did I Let You Know” – the things getting extremely boring. If you fell asleep eventually the opening riff of “Goodbye Hooray” maybe will wake you up, but only to turn the volume down and lay back again. But Josh Klinghoffer delivered there a nice guitar solo which worth to be mentioned.
John Frusciante would be able to make any difference? It’s something we never find out, but honestly, I don’t think so. Josh Klinghoffer seems to be quite alright, there’s nothing wrong with the guitar works on “I’m With You”. Actually, I have the feeling that Josh is the only alive person from the band.
Rick Rubin created a classic, clean sound, maybe too classic and too clean. Even some better ideas are lost their teeth because this too polished sound. Punk stuffs are long gone and we’re left with smooth funk and radio-friendly adult-rock. It’s not that bad, but I’m not grand-dad. Yet.

Track list:

01. “Monarchy of Roses” 4:12
02. “Factory of Faith” 4:20
03. “Brendan’s Death Song” 5:38
04. “Ethiopia” 3:50
05. “Annie Wants a Baby” 3:40
06. “Look Around” 3:28
07. “The Adventures of Rain Dance Maggie” 4:42
08. “Did I Let You Know” 4:21
09. “Goodbye Hooray” 3:52
10. “Happiness Loves Company” 3:34
11. “Police Station” 5:35
12. “Even You Brutus?” 4:01
13. “Meet Me at the Corner” 4:21
14. “Dance, Dance, Dance” 3:45

RHCP sold over 65 million records and I’m convinced they will sell a few more millions from this one as well, but that means no s*it: this is a burned out band with an album of boring conformities and re-chewed formulas. I have a kind of Buena Vista Social Club feeling about this… or this is just the Rolling Stones syndrome, they’ve become their own parody cartoons.

Red Hot Chili Peppers – Official Site
Red Hot Chili Peppers @ MySpace

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *