Sepultura – Kairos (2011)

The departure of Max Cavalera back in 1996 shaken the foundations of Sepultura and some of the fans still not comfortable with Derrick Green. After the release of album “Dante XXI” from 2006, Max managed to extract also his brother Igor from his former band and “A-Lex”, the previous album released in 2009 introduced us the new drummer: Jean Dolabella. Bass player Paulo Jr. is the sole remaining member from the band’s debut album, although guitarist Andreas Kisser might be considered veteran as well while he joined the band in 1987 and his contribution was present since the band’s second album “Schizophrenia”. And well, Derrick fronting Sepultura for 14 years now…
“Kairos”, scheduled to be released on June 24, 2011, through Nuclear Blast Records, is a return to the straight, intense sound and approach of “Roorback” from 2003, a blending of hardcore rawness and nu metal strength, it’s a grinding, heavy, balanced and typically Sepultura flavored material. And metal.
“Relentless” could find his place even on the classic “Chaos A.D.” or “Roots”, “Just One Fix”, the Ministry cover sounds crushing, Sepultura operated with mainly mid-tempos, cutting, straight riffs and schizophrenic but melodious, extremely inspired solos, Jean Dolabella didn’t forget about the Brazilian flavored percussion – “Structure Violence (Azzes)” -, so, “Kairos” is an absolutely honest, straight, atmospheric and powerful, classic Sepultura album, no fan should be unsatisfied.
This is a dark and heavy, modern metal album, a pure and strong Sepultura product filled with excellent songs, exciting themes. It’s no use to compare it neither to Soulfly or Cavalera Conspiracy, while all of them deserve the same respect.
Recording sessions for Kairos took place from December 2010 to March 2011 at Trama Studios in São Paulo, Brazil, with producer Roy Z (Judas Priest, Halford, Iron Maiden’s Bruce Dickinson, Helloween).
Following “Dante XXI” (2006)and “A-Lex” (2009), both of them being concept albums, “Kairos” is also a concept one, but differently, this is not quite a story as “Dante XXI” was linked to Dante’s “The Divine Comedy” and “A-Lex” to the dystopian novella by Anthony Burgess “A Clockwork Orange” made famous through the film directed by Stanley Kubrick. “Kairos” is build around the concept of time, as Andreas Kisser explained: “The whole theme of the album is the concept of the time, and the title reflects that — it’s like one concept of time which is not chronological, from one to two; it’s like a an instant in time, it’s a special time of change… Everyone’s life is written by their choices — you have many ‘kairos’ moments, like if you go from point A to point B to point C, you are driven by your choices or your guidance; you have to go either one way or the other. And that’s the kind of time we talked about — not about aging or getting old or going back in time; it’s just about those important moments that can change everything.”

Track listing:

01. “Spectrum”
02. “Kairos”
03. “Relentless”
04. “2011”
05. “Just One Fix” (Ministry cover)
06. “Dialog”
07. “Mask”
08. “1433”
09. “Seethe”
10. “Born Strong”
11. “Embrace the Storm”
12. “5772”
13. “No One Will Stand”
14. “Structure Violence (Azzes)”
15. “4648”

16. “Firestater” (The Prodigy cover) (Deluxe Edition)
17. “Point of No Return” (Deluxe Edition)

Sepultura – Official Site
Sepultura @ MySpace
Nuclear Blast Records

Incoming search terms:

sepultura kairos review

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *