The Five Corners Quintet – The Helsinki Sessions (2011)

A live recording with a Jazz band such as The Five Corners Quintet can’t be nothing but exciting. In 2005, The Five Corners Quintet from Helsinki took the international dancefloor jazz scene by a storm. “Chasin’ the Jazz Gone By”, their debut album proved out to be both an artistic and a commercial success story. TFCQ surprisingly managed to merged smoothly the essence of the traditional Jazz with the sounds and approaches of modern Jazz and combining standards with fresh improvisations and quite danceable rhythmic structures with the richness of harmonies, melodies and mind blowing improvising explosions. It’s impossible to stay sit, TFCQ makes you jump up and swing to their music, and let’s face it, this is quite rare quality for a Jazz band now days.


01 – Trading Eights
02 – Hot Rod
03 – Unsquare Bossa
04 – Midnight in Trieste
05 – Skinny Dipping
06 – Three Corners
07 – Shake it

TFCQ do things kind of looking back while moving forward and having a knack at searching and finding new directions instead of following paths burst by others. The live band consisting of Teppo Mäkynen (drums/bandleader), Timo Lassy (sax), Jukka Eskola (trumpet), Mikael Jakobsson (piano), and Antti Lötjönen (double bass).

The Five Corners Quintet – Official Site

Incoming search terms:

five corners quintet helsinki sessions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *