The 7 Deadly Sins

The 7 Deadly Sins 3 Lust

The 7 Deadly Sins 1 Greed

The seven deadly sins, also known as the capital vices or cardinal sins, is a grouping and classification of vices of Christian origin. Behaviors or habits are classified under this category if they directly give birth to other immoralities. According to the standard list, they are pride, greed, lust, envy, gluttony, wrath, and sloth, which are also contrary to the seven virtues. These sins are often thought to be abuses or excessive versions of one’s natural faculties or passions (for example, gluttony abuses one’s desire to eat). Read more The 7 Deadly Sins

Bertrand Flachot – Just above the waterline

Bertrand Flachot - Just above the waterline

Bertrand Flachot -  Just above the waterline

In nautical terminology, the waterline refers to the line separating the submerged section of the hull of a ship – the quickworks – from the section above water – the topsides (literally the “live” works and “dead” works in French). The works which Bertrand Flachot is presenting this autumn at the Felli Gallery are very much alive; they immerse us in the soft formal ambiguity which is the hallmark of his aesthetic world. Lines and strokes trace and highlight the meanders of the memory of areas which have been crossed in Paris, in a manner reminiscent of Giacometti’s Paris sans fin (Paris without end) to which he pays a passing tribute. Read more Bertrand Flachot – Just above the waterline