Gallows – Desolation Sounds (2015)

Gallows - Desolation Sounds (2015)

Gallows - Desolation Sounds (2015) Gallows it’s the perfect mixture of the Aleister Crowley originated mysticism and healthy, punk rooted hardcore. Definitively one of the most interesting and solid Brit acts of the last decade and a band with the power and talent to deliver further exciting releases.
After the release of their debut album, Bad Religion’s Brett Gurewitz named “Orchestra of Wolves” as one of his favourite albums of 2007, praising it as being the best hardcore album since Refused’s “The Shape of Punk to Come”.
In 2007 the band won the Kerrang! Award for best British Newcomer.
They signed to Warner Bros. Records for a £1 million contract for one album with option up to three, were dropped after the release of the first one, “Grey Britain”. “Grey Britain” was a killer album, but probably not commercially successful enough for the Warner Bros. expectations.
Lead singer Frank Carter left Gallows in July 2011 and formed his own project with ex-The Hope Conspiracy and Suicide File guitarist Jim Carroll named Pure Love.
Former Alexisonfire guitarist/vocalist Wade MacNeil replaced Carter shortly after Alexisonfire announced their disbandment.
They launched their own record label, Venn Records, and the eponymously titled third album “Gallows” on 10 September 2012.
In February 2013 the band announced that they would be continuing as a four-piece, with Steph Carter leaving to focus on his other band, Ghost Riders in the Sky.
Their fourth album, titled “Desolation Sounds” was released on 13 April 2015.

10 song, no fills, “Desolation Sounds” shows a mature and consistent band still fueled by anger and having their best times ahead of them. Killer guitar riffs, sticky choruses and total intensity, that’s what it’s made of “Desolation Sounds” concentrated in quality songs. Sound simple, but it’s harder then it seems. Quite few bands manage nowadays to deliver as Gallows do. Hats off!


1. Mystic Death
2. Desolation Sounds
3. Leviathan Rot
4. Chains
5. Bonfire Season
6. Leather Crown
7. 93/93
8. Death Valley Blue
9. Cease to Exist
10. Swan Song

Wade MacNeil (vocals)
Laurent Barnard (guitars/keys/vocals)
Stu Gili-Ross (bass/vocals)
Lee Barratt (drums)

Gallows – Official Site


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *