Air – Le Voyage Dans La Lune (2012)

Based on two popular novels of the time, Jules Verne’s “From the Earth to the Moon” and H. G. Wells’ “The First Men in the Moon”, Georges Méliès, assisted by his brother Gaston, wrote and directed in 1902, the black-and-white silent science fiction film “Le Voyage dans la lune” (A Trip to the Moon). It was named one of the 100 greatest films of the 20th century by The Village Voice, ranking at #84.
The film runs 14 minutes if projected at 16 frames per second and is the first science fiction film which uses innovative animation and special effects, including the well-known image of the spaceship landing in the Moon’s eye.
“Le Voyage dans la lune” is the seventh studio album by French electronic music duo Air and the album takes its inspiration from the classic film.

A fully restored version of the film is currently playing at film festivals worldwide and Air composed an original score for this new film version of the film. A free three-minute film excerpt featuring the song “Sonic Armada” was made available for one week in early December 2011 in conjunction with a pre-order offer. The digital version of the album along with the newly restored and colorised sixteen-minute film will be released as a strictly limited edition. Althrough, the whole album runs for 32:08 minutes, includes 11 tracks and beside the two sole members of group, Jean-Benoit Dunckel and Nicolas Godin, featuring vocals by Annie Hart and Heather D’Angelo of the dream pop band Au Revoir Simone, Victoria Legrand, cello by Isabelle Vuarnesson, drums by Vincent Taeger and Alex Thomas.


01 – Astronomic Club
02 – Seven Stars
03 – Retour Sur Terre
04 – Parade
05 – Moon Fever
06 – Sonic Armada
07 – Who Am I Now
08 – Decollage
09 – Cosmic Trip
10 – Homme Lune
11 – Lava

The album was released on 6th February 2012.
My favorite Air album remains their 1998’s debut album “Moon Safari”, but still, “Le Voyage Dans La Lune” it’s quite a colorful, vibrating and fascinating trip, not necessarily to the Moon, but in the glamorous, vivid and tasty world of sounds and subtle layers build by Air.

Air – Official Site
Air – Official YouTube Channel
Air @ MySpace
Air @ Facebook
Air @ Twitter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *