Soulfly – Savages (2013)

Soulfly - Savages (2013)

Soulfly - Savages (2013) The soul-tribe of Brazil is back! “Savages” is the upcoming ninth studio album of the band and the first to feature drummer Zyon Cavalera, Max’s son. Scheduled to be released on October 4, “Savages” consist of 10 grinding metal tracks and it was produced by the legendary Terry Date, responsible for some memorable albums such as Metal Church – Metal Church (1984), Sanctuary – Refuge Denied (1988), Dream Theater – When Dream and Day Unite (1989), Overkill – The Years of Decay (1989), Pantera – Cowboys from Hell (1990), Prong – Cleansing (1994) and many more. The album benefits also from featuring several guest artists including Igor Cavalera of Lody Kong, Jamie Hanks of I Declare War, Neil Fallon of Clutch and Mitch Harris of Napalm Death.

Soulfly – Max Cavalera – lead vocals, rhythm guitar, berimbau; Marc Rizzo – lead guitar; Tony Campos – bass guitar, vocals on El Comegente; and Zyon Cavalera – drums, percussion; – delivered another dark and heavy, thrash rooted, grinding modern metal album. It’s intense and brutal, it’s Soulfly.


01. Bloodshed (feat. Igor Cavalera)
02. Cannibal Holocaust
03. Fallen (feat. Jamie Hanks)
04. Ayatollah Of Rock ‘N’ Rolla (feat. Neil Fallon)
05. Master Of Savagery
06. Spiral
07. This Is Violence
08. K.C.S. (feat. Mitch Harris)
09. El Comegente (feat. Tony Campos)
10. Soulfliktion

Some of the songs are surprisingly old-school metal flavored – “Cannibal Holocaust”,”Master Of Savagery”, “Soulfliktion” – while the rest of the album consist of contorted, sometimes industrial, sometimes groove metal flavored moments merged into heavy, powerful old-school metal butcheries. This is the path Soulfly is on since their 2005’s “Dark Ages”, this is the Max trademarked metal the fans demand.
“Bloodshed” is a slow grinding metal classic, rooted back to Sepultura era resonances, but being, simultaneously, a genuine Soulfly song. “Ayatollah Of Rock ‘N’ Rolla” it’s a true-blooded metal anthem, it’s hard to get rid of it once you hear it. “Spiral” it’s build upon a murderous riff and it’s a grinding modern metal monster. “This Is Violence” have a Pantera type of riff and a Sepultura type of groove. It have all the characteristics of the “Roots” era masterpieces. “K.C.S.” have the same flavor and intensity with a fabulous rhythmic build-up. The epic “El Comegente” it’s probably one of the darkest track of the album with a beautiful, Soulfly classic breakdown.

Soulfly – Official Site


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *