Sneaker Pimps – Becoming X (1996)

23 consecutive weeks on the US Billboard 200, “Becoming X”, the debut effort by the project Sneaker Pimps released on August 19, 1996, still, after 15 years, sounds fresh and percussive. Hits like “6 Underground”, “Spin Spin Sugar” or “Tesko Suicide” have some particular charm, their vibe still breathing. Chris Corner and Liam Howe find a particular blending of Downtempo and Dub, Trip-Hop and Electronica, mysterious textures and bursting Rock explosions, combined hard beats and glitching samples with cutting Rock guitars, smooth Jazz pianos and floating girl vocals. Sometimes Gothic, other times gloomy, slow, but alive and dynamic, quite hypnotic, but striking, Sneaker Pimps and their debut album is another mandatory piece to collect. This is a trip, take care who you’ll become.

Sneaker Pimps was formed in 1994 by Chris Corner and Liam Howe, who recruited Kelli Dayton (ex-Lumieres) for vocal duties and long-time friend Ian Pickering to provide lyrics. We’ve got 11 tracks, an unique trip and Sneaker Pimps take you note by note, track by track deeper in their dark, but glowing universe. It’s a journey you won’t forget.

Track list:

01. “Low Place Like Home” − 4:38
02. “Tesko Suicide” − 3:48
03. “6 Underground” − 3:54
04. “Becoming X” − 4:15
05. “Spin Spin Sugar” − 4:21
06. “Post-Modern Sleaze” − 5:21
07. “Waterbaby” − 4:12
08. “Roll On” − 4:28
09. “Wasted Early Sunday Morning” − 4:29
10. “Walking Zero” − 4:31
11. “How Do” − 5:03

Following the promotional tour for “Becoming X”, Kelli was dismissed from the group, and Corner became the singer.
In 1988 they released a limited edition remixed version entitled “Becoming Remixed” and featuring remixes by DJs such as Paul Oakenfold.
Sneaker Pimps released two more albums: “Splinter” in 1999 and “Bloodsport” in 2002. Another album, work title “SP4: remained unreleased and most of the songs were used by Corner in his own project: IAMX.
Chris Corner began working on a side project in 2003 and released three solo albums in 2004, 2006, and 2009 under the moniker IAMX titled Kiss + Swallow , The Alternative, and Kingdom of Welcome Addiction. His latest album was release in March 2011 titled “Volatile Times”.
Liam Howe has become a successful writer / producer and has written and produced the likes of Marina and the Diamonds, and Ellie Goulding, he is signed to Columbia records for his solo project which includes collaborations from Alan Vega, Neneh Cherry and Princess Superstar.
Kelli Dayton aka Kelli Ali recorded her third solo album Rocking Horse at the beginning of 2008.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.