John Zorn – Nova Express (2011)

Zorn’s first release for 2011, another piece of the puzzle from his colorful, restless, dynamic and sometimes moody musical world. “Nova Express” is a very intense work where most of Zorn’s previous explorations comes to unite. It contains the depths of the Interzone conspiracy, the lyricism of Zorn’s classical works, the clear-obscure notes of Naked City and the virtuosity showed on the Masada songbooks. It’s an avant-garde journey where jazz and contemporary music collide in the most intense and vibrating way its possible. Dark, gloomy passages are nicely colored with subtle jazz interventions or expressive explosions of improvisations. “Nova Express” is a groovy and exciting collection of modern chamber music filled with beautiful details and dramatic passions, another borderless intercourse in the mystical and vibrating world of Zorn where every single note is worth at least a picture and together opens the window to another universe of deep shadows and bright lights, its the pure dancing poetry of a forgotten ancient world or just the shapes of things to come. This record have an incredible groove, the abstract trips and the sharp cuts of intense passages are overlapping and shifting each other incredibly fluently in a perfect balance and tempo.

Once again, Zorn gathered together a brilliant line-up of musicians with Trevor Dunn on bass, John Medeski on piano, Joey Baron on drums and Kenny Wollesen on vibes. Dense and beautiful performance, Zorn is a wizard.

John Zorn – on MySpace
Tzadik Records

Incoming search terms:

john zorn nova express, Zorn Nova Express

0 comments on “John Zorn – Nova Express (2011)

1 Pings/Trackbacks for "John Zorn – Nova Express (2011)"

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *