(ghost) – Departure (2013)

This is a quite emotional journey on the wings of soulful, cinematic – and ghostly – electronic music. Sensitive grooves and mysterious layers of obscure melodies are the ingredients of this moods and feelings oriented exploration. It’s like a movie without words, it gives you the wings to fly through an endless space made up of dream and fear fragments.
In a world where half of the humans acting like everything’s just fine and dancing, while the other half are drowning in depression and waiting for Apocalypse every single day, an escape into some wide open spaces like “Departure” it’s like winning a trip to heaven.
“Departure” is the debut album from Connecticut based producer (ghost). Rooted firmly at electronic music’s crossroads where electronic pop, early artificial intelligence era ‘Warpisms’ and experimental electro intersect Departure follows a thinly structured concept in which a protagonist, possibly (ghost) himself(?), escapes a type of confinement in search of freedom or immunity.

Brian Froh was influenced by music as young as age five. His father taught him the most important aspect of composing music is that it has to come from the soul. Growing up in a small farm town in Connecticut, Brian was able to find a group of friends that shared the same passion for music, which led them to perform, compose, and record music for 8 years together. With his friends nearing the end of their college days Brian felt it was time to look into a new direction, and began composing under the name (ghost). Drawing from musical influences such as the likes of Proem and Boards of Canada, as well as the twisted plots of Edgar Allen Poe and Stephen King, Brian began to shape his sound. His music can be described as a bridge between emotions felt in everyday life and a story of fantasy. On his debut album, “Departure”, Froh blends together an eclectic series of moods including hope, fear, and the pursuit of a better self.


01 Arrival. Departure.
02 Plans To Escape
03 Soft Sands
04 Abyss
05 Distance
06 Full Cycle
07 Leaving It All Behind
08 Window Seat
09 Endless Roads
10 Vertical

“Depature” will be available on the 9th April through n5MD and can be pre-ordered HERE

(ghost) @ Facebook
(ghost) @ Soundcloud
(ghost) @ Bandcamp
(ghost) @ n5md
(ghost) @ Twitter

Exclusive on-line streaming of “Departure” at astrangelyisolatedplace.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *