Skunk Anansie – Paranoid and Sunburnt (1995)

Skunk Anansie rose from the mean streets of London in the early part of 1993, in time of social, political and musical changes. As they stated, their name, “Skunk Anansie” is taken from the West African folk tales of Anansi the spider-man, with “Skunk” added to “make the name nastier”. The band, in 2004, was named as one of the most successful UK chart acts between 1952 and 2003 by the Guinness Book of British Hit Singles & Albums, with a total of 141 weeks on both the singles and album charts ranking them at #491.
Skin (born Deborah Dyer, 3 August 1967, Brixton), Cass (born Richard Keith Lewis, 1 September 1960, London), Ace (born Martin Ivor Kent, 30 March 1967, Cheltenham) and Mark Richardson (born 28 May 1970, Leeds) get the public and media attention by their incendiary live show and “vitriolic striking attack on the preconceived image of what a rock band should be at that time.”

On their debut album, Skunk Anansie delivered 44 minutes of rage and energy full, intense rock. The album featuring a mixture of controversial protest songs, lyrics mainly focusing on topics around hot subjects as politics, racism and religion.
Recorded at Great Linford Manor Studios, the material was mixed by Andy Wallace and the album was produced by Silvia Massy and Skunk Anansie.
It was released on 21th September 1995.

The album peaked at #8 in the UK Albums Chart.

In 1995 they were voted Best New British Band by the readers of Kerrang! magazine. At the award ceremony that year drummer Mark Richardson met the band who were looking for a permanent replacement for Robbie France so an audition was set up and the band was reformed. Soon after that, two of their songs, “Feed” and “Selling Jesus”, appeared on the soundtrack of the film Strange Days in 1995. “Selling Jesus” became Skunk Anansie’s controversial second song to receive radio play, following their first radio release “Little Baby Swastikkka”. Success continued for the band and they were also voted Kerrang!’s Best British Live Act in 1996. In 1997 they were nominated for Best Live Act and Best Group at the MTV Europe Music Awards.
Skunk Anansie disbanded in 2001, but reformed in 2009.

Track list:

01. “Selling Jesus” 3:45
02. “Intellectualise My Blackness” 3:45
03. “I Can Dream” 3:51
04. “Little Baby Swastikkka” 4:04
05. “All in the Name of Pity” 3:23
06. “Charity” 4:33
07. “It Takes Blood & Guts to Be This Cool But I’m Still Just a Cliche” 4:12
08. “Weak” 3:34
09. “And Here I Stand” 5:14
10. “100 Ways to Be a Good Girl” 3:58
11. “Rise Up” 4:05

Skunk Anansie – Official Site
Skunk Anansie @ MySpace
Skunk Anansie @ YouTube
Skunk Anansie @ Facebook
Skunk Anansie @ Twitter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *