Jethro Tull – Roots to Branches (1995)

Between their debut, “This Was” in 1968 and their 21st in 2003 with “The Jethro Tull Christmas Album “, Jethro Tull has delivered albums with distinctive sounds crossing genres and styles, merging prog/art rock, hard rock, heavy metal, jazz, blues, folk, classical, Elizabethan, and world music. I heard Ian Anderson’s music for the first time with the 72’s album “Living in the Past” and even if I wasn’t an unconditional fan of Tull, Anderson, we have to admit it, delivered quality materials throughout the years. “Roots to Branches” released on 4 September 1995, probably is not as acclaimed as “Thick as a Brick” (1972) or famous as “Too Old to Rock ‘n’ Roll: Too Young to Die!” (1976), but definitively is a colorful trip into a musical universe filled up will all the spices from Anderson’s workshop.

“Roots to Branches” carries characteristics of Tull’s classic 1970s art-rock and folk-rock roots alongside jazz and Arabic and Far Eastern influences, but also some heavy riffs and hard rock themes, making their 19th studio album one of the most breathing, colorful release of the band. Written and produced exclusively by Ian Anderson, the album was recorded at his home studio.
60 minutes, “Roots to Branches” is a pulsing journey in Anderson’s colorful and charming universe, a beautiful combination of the Arabic and Far Eastern colors with jazz, folk and rock themes, constructions.

Track list:

01. “Roots To Branches” – 5:11
02. “Rare And Precious Chain” – 3:35
03. “Out Of The Noise” – 3:25
04. “This Free Will” – 4:05
05. “Valley” – 6:07
06. “Dangerous Veils” – 5:35
07. “Beside Myself” – 5:50
08. “Wounded, Old And Treacherous” – 7:50
09. “At Last, Forever” – 7:55
10. “Stuck In The August Rain” – 4:06
11. “Another Harry’s Bar” – 6:21

Jethro Tull – Official Site

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *