Blink-182 – Neighborhoods (2011)

Vacation is over, time to wake up the neighborhoods. After a four-year hiatus this is their first album of new material in eight year. Two tragedies regarding the band – the death of the band’s frequent producer Jerry Finn by a cerebral hemorrhage on August 21, 2008 and a plane crash survived only by drummer Travis Barker and Adam Goldstein, better known as DJ AM – bring the band members together and they managed to work out their issues and reunite in 2008. “Neighborhoods” is the first Blink-182 album produced by the band members without the help of an outside record producer. And Mark Hoppus, Tom DeLonge and Travis Barker did a great job.
Released on September 27, 2011 through DGC Records and Interscope Records, the sixth studio album by Blink-182 is another great collection of pop punk anthems. Maybe some of their new songs have a darker vibe, but still, this is so 101% Californian punk.

Formed by vocalist and bass guitarist Mark Hoppus, vocalist and guitarist Tom DeLonge, and drummer Scott Raynor in Poway, California in 1992, their 1997’s “Dude Ranch”, the band’s second album sold over one million copies. Scott Raynor was replaced by Travis Barker very next year.
They have sold over 27 million albums worldwide. The band achieved greater success with 1999’s multi-platinum selling Enema of the State, which reached number 9 on the Billboard 200 on the strength of the singles “What’s My Age Again” and “All the Small Things”, the latter of which became the highest-charting song of their career by reaching number 6 on the Billboard Hot 100. Blink-182 gained popularity for their irreverent sense of humor, and the follow-up album “Take Off Your Pants and Jacket” released in 2001 reached number 1 in the United States, Canada, and Germany. The eponymously-titled “Blink-182” followed in 2003 and introduced a mature band willing to wider their musical horizon and infusing experimental elements into their usual California “happy” punk formulas.
“The worst is yet to come”?
“Neighborhoods” reveals a more serious, mature band, ten songs, 36 and so minutes, full of bleak and dark lyricism and tension, unexpected experiments beyond the boundaries of pop punk and punk rock with some more grittier sound, and generally with a more sober vibe. Natural progress and circumstantial influences lead to the release of a gloomy, but still breathing, excellent record and prove that Blink-182 still have potential, actually probably the best is still to come.


01. “Ghost on the Dance Floor” 4:17
02. “Natives” 3:55
03. “Up All Night” 3:20
04. “After Midnight” 3:25
05. “Heart’s All Gone” 3:15
06. “Wishing Well” 3:20
07. “Kaleidoscope” 3:52
08. “This Is Home” 2:46
09. “MH 4.18.2011” 3:27
10. “Love Is Dangerous” 4:27

Blink-182 – Official Site
Blink-182 @ MySpace
Blink-182 @ Last fm
Blink-182 @ Facebook

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *