Doctor Midnight and The Mercy Cult – I Declare: Treason (2011)

When Hank von Helvete – vocals (Turbonegro), Tim Sköld – bass (Kingpin, Shotgun Messiah, Skold, KMFDM, MDFMK, The Newlydeads, Ohgr, Marilyn Manson), guitarist Anders Odden – guitars (Cadaver, Satyricon, Celtic Frost, Apoptygma Berzerk, Magenta) and Audun Stengel – guitars (Apoptygma Berzerk, The Kovenant) and drummer David Husvik – drums (Extol) decide it to play together in 2009, it was obvious we’ve got our self another supergroup. The band made its live debut in Helsinki, Finland on May 11th, 2011 at club DOM and released on May 9th, 2011 their debut single “(Don’t) Waste It” followed by the released of their first full-length album, “I Declare: Treason” on June 6th, 2011.
This is a very classy, old-school like, but extremely breathing heavy/speed metal product, reminds me somehow of Sanctuary and their 1988’s “Refuge Denied” and Alice Cooper’s “Brutal Planet” from 2000, but DMTMC have some catchy modern up-dates, bring some good tricks out of their magic hats, actually, it’s been a while since I didn’t heard so many taste riffs gathered together on a single album, they wrote some pretty dark themes and a few very good songs.

“Misconception”, “Sign My Name”, “I Declare: Treason”, “Victorious”, “Glory (Throw the Axe)” are some of their anthematic, catchy songs, merging shapes of sparkling dark rock and pumping groovy metal into their dynamic, gloomy, but extremely catchy songs.
Vocalist When Hank von Helvete sings more like Alice Cooper then Warrel Dane (Sanctuary, Nevermore), but sometimes he stealth in something from Rob Halford’s style and approach.
Conservative metal fans will devour it and this is really something to listen to. Supergroups not always prove the reputation of its members, DMTMC it’s not the case, they really rocks.

Doctor Midnight and The Mercy Cult – Official Site
Season Of Mist – Official e-Shop

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.