Pat Metheny – What’s It All About (2011)

This is a beautiful, quite acoustic album. As it’s written on Metheny’s official web site: “The new acoustic solo guitar album from Pat Metheny called “What’s It All About” features classic tunes from songwriters like Paul Simon, Lennon & McCartney, Burt Bacharach, and Henry Mancini. Pat describes it like this: “I wanted to record some of the music that was on my radar before I ever wrote a note of my own, or in a few cases, even before I played an instrument. Every one of these tunes has something going on that is just hip on a musical level, no matter how you cut it. They have all stuck with me over the years.” While Matheny played with John Scofield, Charlie Haden, Jim Hall, Ornette Coleman, Brad Mehldau, Jaco Pastorius and Bob Moses, Charlie Haden and Billy Higgins, Dave Holland and Roy Haynes, Joni Mitchell, Jack DeJohnette, Chick Corea, Herbie Hancock, Bill Stewart, Kenny Garrett,and his older brother, Mike Metheny, a talented jazz musician and a trumpet player, among many others, it’s almost strange that “What’s It All About” actually it’s his sixth solo album while his first, “New Chautauqua” was released by ECM back in 1979.

Smooth and vibrating, Metheny delivered 10 tasty reinterpretations of some classics, it’s nice and refreshing to listen it.


01 – The Sound Of Silence
02 – Cherish
03 – Alfie
04 – Pipeline
05 – Garota De Ipanema
06 – Rainy Days And Mondays
07 – That’s The Way I’ve Always Heard It Should Be
08 – Slow Hot Wind
09 – Betcha By Golly, Wow
10 – And I Love Her

Pat Metheny – Official Site
Click here to order the new album

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *